Mission and values

  • Colloque VocUM (henceforth VocUM) is a non-profit organization whose principal activity is the organization of an annual, interdisciplinary conference on language. Its main objective is to open a space for student-researchers, in order to allow them to share the results of their research on language. This objective is motivated by two shortcomings of the current structure of graduate studies.

    Firstly, language is an object of study for numerous academic disciplines. However, these remain largely isolated from one another, which is reflected in the highly compartmentalized structure of graduate studies (one department, a single advisor, one very narrow subject). Secondly, graduate studies are perceived as comprising three core activities: completing mandatory classes, carrying out the research project, and writing the thesis or dissertation. In so doing, some crucial aspects of professional research are neglected, namely the dissemination of research findings – through conference attendance or article publication –, professional networking, and collaborative research in multidisciplinary contexts. Thus, students do not have the opportunity to develop the skills related to these fundamental aspects of research: oral communication, writing, interpersonal skills (communication, adaptability, team work, etc.). All of this contributes to the isolation and solitude felt by many graduate students on several fronts, personal (few interactions with peers), intellectual (little feedback from peers) as well as professional (little dissemination of research findings, thus little recognition of research projects).

    VocUM aims to tackle this double problem by allowing student-researchers to present their research findings to a community of peers and to write a research article based on this presentation, all of this in a multidisciplinary context that promotes the integration of differing perspectives and thus the elaboration of innovative solutions.

Mission et valeurs

  • Colloque VocUM (dorénavant VocUM) est un organisme à but non lucratif qui voit à la mise en place d’un évènement annuel, soit un colloque multidisciplinaire sur le langage. Son objectif premier est d’ouvrir un espace pour les étudiants-chercheurs afin que ceux-ci puissent partager les résultats de leurs recherches sur le langage. Cet objectif a deux motivations, qui découlent des lacunes de la structure actuelle des programmes de maîtrise et de doctorat.

    D’une part, le langage constitue un objet d’étude pour de nombreuses disciplines. Celles-ci demeurent cependant largement isolées les unes des autres, comme en témoigne la formation très cloisonnée des étudiants aux cycles supérieurs (un seul département, un seul directeur de thèse, un sujet très pointu). D’autre part, les études supérieures reposent actuellement sur trois activités perçues comme prioritaires : la scolarité, la réalisation du projet de recherche et la rédaction du mémoire ou de la thèse. Ce faisant, certains aspects pourtant cruciaux du métier de chercheur sont négligés, en l’occurrence la diffusion des résultats de la recherche – par la participation à des colloques et la publication d’articles –, le réseautage professionnel et la recherche au sein d’équipes multidisciplinaires. Les étudiants n’ont donc pas l’occasion de développer les aptitudes qui s’y rattachent : communication orale, rédaction, compétences interpersonnelles (communication, adaptabilité, travail d’équipe, etc.). Tous ces éléments mis ensemble contribuent à la solitude vécue par de nombreux étudiants aux cycles supérieurs, au plan personnel (peu d’interaction avec les pairs), intellectuel (peu de rétroaction des pairs) et professionnel (peu de diffusion donc de reconnaissance des projets de recherche).

    C’est à cette double problématique que s’attaque le projet. En effet, VocUM permet à des étudiants-chercheurs de donner une communication sur leurs travaux devant une communauté de pairs et d’écrire un article qui découle de cette communication, et ce, dans un contexte multidisciplinaire qui favorise l’intégration de différentes perspectives et donc l’élaboration de solutions innovantes.